.

Patch's Poll: Does Malloy Deserve to be in the Top Five of Least-Liked Governors?

Does Malloy deserve to hold this title? Only 33 percent of voters in a recent PPP poll approve of the job that the governor of Connecticut is doing, according to the New Haven Register.

Gov. Dannel Malloy has one of the worst approval ratings among U.S. governors in a poll conducted by Public Policy Polling, according to the New Haven Register.

A statement released by the organization shows that 33 percent of voters approved of him while 51 percent of voters disapproved. Only North Carolina Gov. Bev Perdue, Hawaii Gov. Neil Abercrombie, Illinois Gov. Pat Quinn and Pennsylvania Gov. Tom Corbett of Pennsylvania had worse ratings.

Only 52 percent of Democrats, 25 percent of Independents and 15 percent of Republicans approve of the job Malloy has been doing since elected into office.

Malloy advisor Roy Occhiogrosso told the Register that the governor "always tries to do what he thinks is in the best interests of the people of Connecticut" despite his approval rating.

. Forty-four percent of voters approved of his performance, while 45 percent of voters disapproved. This poll gave him the highest approval rating in a Quinnpiac poll since taking office in January 2011.

DisgruntledInClinton August 06, 2012 at 09:47 PM
I wish we had Chris Christie... although some conservatives don't like him because he's "not conservative enough". He is turning around NJ's fiscal problems, just like Scott Walker of WI. Personally, I voted for Foley for Governor and everything I read about Malloy is disappointing. He made lots of promises. Has he delivered on any of them? That is a real question, as I follow national and local politics more than I do state. (Shame on me, but I think it's because I dislike the Courant and the Register, the only ones available in my area.)
Patrick Madley August 06, 2012 at 11:31 PM
I believe governor Malloy is doing a great job. He came into a tough mess and he is trying. After all, that's all he can do, is try. It tough being the governor. Is he perfect? No. But he's not the worst either.
ASmith August 07, 2012 at 03:47 AM
We've had worse and they werent in the top 5. Look at Rowland, Weicker, those fellas were worse than the fox in the henhouse. Did we ever have a good one?
Lise Cavallaro August 07, 2012 at 01:29 PM
In my opinion, Jody Rell was a good governor.
Denise Duphily August 07, 2012 at 03:50 PM
Malloy began by saying he was tired of teachers being the "scapegoats" of education. Many teachers voted for him, believing he would attack the issue of low performing poorer school districts with funding for these districts, additional preschool education, optional parenting classes, and generally doing what he promised. Instead he ignores public school funding and the hard research that shows magnet and charter schools do not, on the average, perform better than public schools, and offers only charter and magnet schools additional funding. In addition, he creates a plan that uses CMT scores as an enormous portion of teacher evaluation. Will this help students who are test phobic, or a curriculum that needs to enrich student curiosity and problem solving abilities rather than teaching students to pass a test? I am a teacher, I voted for Malloy, and I am extremely sorry I did. If our poorest districts are performing most poorly, driving teachers to teach to the test and ignoring public schools is not the answer.
Lance Coughlin August 07, 2012 at 05:50 PM
the clown Hawaii has in charge was in on the Obama birth certificate scam. google frank Marshall Davis, he looks a lot more like Obama than his purported Kenyan father.
DisgruntledInClinton August 07, 2012 at 06:52 PM
Yes, there is evidence that F.M.Davis might be his father, as he took pornographic pictures of Obama's mother at a young age. And she started having sex at a very young age. I read one author who wrote that he was her first lover.
Spiff August 07, 2012 at 09:15 PM
This article says, "Malloy advisor Roy Occhiogrosso told the Register that the governor "always tries to do what he thinks is in the best interests of the people of Connecticut" despite his approval rating." What an outright lie!!! Malloy has done nothing of the sort. He has only done things that benefit selected groups within his political party. If he actually cared about the people of CT as a whole and was trying to do what was in our best interest he would have never signed the largest tax increase in state history, he would have promoted policies that actually help to grow the economy, not those that continue to hurt the economy! CT is one of the most business unfriendly states in the country with a ranking of 44th (first link below), has the highest tax burden in the country and is considered the worst state to retire to (second link), and according to the Institute for Truth in Accounting is in the "worst financial position of all 50 states" (last link). Malloy is arguably the worst Governor we have had in decades! http://www.cnbc.com/id/46413845 http://finance.yahoo.com/news/pf_article_113611.html http://truthinaccounting.org/state-of-states/2010_statereport_connecticut.pdf
Tom Scelfo August 08, 2012 at 01:54 AM
Despite the massive tax increases Malloy pushed forward, our budget is still in bad shape. He made a lot of noise about cracking down on excessive state employee costs, and then caved by agreeing not to move forward with layoffs while playing with the numbers to make it look like he got a good deal. State unions were laughing all the way to the bank. We need to reduce spending. Rhode Island realized that their budget was in trouble, so they negotiated reduced pension costs with state employees so that they don't go into bankruptcy. If you want to learn something about Connecticut's out-of-control-spending, check out http://www.yankeeinstitute.org/. Does it really make sense that 1,279 state employees make more than Malloy? When I looked at their listing of current state employee salaries and pensions, I went down the list looking for people I deal with at the State......I was in shock at many of their salaries. Then I looked at the pensions of workers I knew who have retired at a mighty early age (compared with the private sector), and it was stunning. I'm not an advocate of penalizing those who have already retired on the gravy train - we promised they too much, and that is water under the bridge. However, we are doing nothing to curb spending for future generations. We don't even talk about it.
CT Votes 4 Loosers August 08, 2012 at 06:28 PM
Looser's try and Winner's do! "Vote for me I will try my best." That's the person I want in office.
Spiff August 08, 2012 at 06:45 PM
OK guys, here's a great story that I read just this afternoon about a city that was past it's prime that reinvented itself and, through reduced taxes, have created new businesses and jobs, and lowered unemployment! (Access link below.) Too bad none of the thick headed Dems in this state would actually do something similar! HEY DAN MALLOY, IF YOU'RE LISTENING, THIS IS HOW YOU CREATE ECONOMIC GROWTH, BY REDUCING TAXES AND CREATING A BUSINESS FRIENDLY ENVIRONMENT WHERE BUSINESSES WANT TO SPEND MONEY!!! READ THE ATTACHED ARTICLE, DAN!!! http://finance.yahoo.com/news/pittsburgh-reinvents-itself-hollywood-film-094000471.html
Patrick Madley August 08, 2012 at 06:59 PM
CT Votes 4 Loosers, he is trying, that is all he can do. It doesn't matter who we put in office at a bad economic time because the result will be the same. It's a tough position to be in. And loser is spelled just like that, "loser" not "looser".
Spiff August 08, 2012 at 07:08 PM
Sorry Patrick, but that is incorrect! Even though the economy isn't growing like gangbusters at the moment, the government can still promote policies that favor economic growth. Dany Malloy's policies inhibit economic growth. Access the link in my 2:46 pm post and you will see how government can assist the economy with lower taxes and tax incentives. Enjoy!
Anthony August 09, 2012 at 01:22 AM
Rell was a good Governor? She was a nice lady but did nothing for the state except leave us BILLIONS in debt. Also do you remember the fiasco with that one snow storm that left all the state employees stranded? Imagine if she was still in office when Irene hit or the October Nor' Easter we had last year.
Tom Scelfo August 09, 2012 at 03:32 AM
It's pretty hard to blame Rell for the debt without including the legislature. Rell vetoed as much gross over-spending as she could, but the legislature held the budget hostage, so Rell realized that she needed to compromise in order to get a budget. Hopefully, you don't think it was Rell just throwning money around with everyone else on the sidelines. Unless a single party has both the Governor's office and the legislature (or the Presidency and the Congress), compromise is required. Malloy can basically do whatever he wants just like Obama could in his first 2 years. Without compromise, you get a hostile legislature (or Congress) on the other side of the fence, and then nothing useful gets done. Nationally, I can hardly wait to see how those Bozos "compromise" after the election and before the end of the year down in Washington. Fiscal cliff, here we come!
MrsSmithWatchingWashington August 09, 2012 at 08:24 PM
Frank Marshall Davis' son and daughter, especially the son, look very, very much like Obama.
DHHS CLASS OF 1971 August 10, 2012 at 01:39 AM
Spiff.....Great Information......Please go visit the American Legislative Exchange Council....ALEC.....check out their rankings of the States in their publication - Rich States - Poor States....Google it. Look up Connecticut. This is an AMAZING publication! Really backs up your points. Special attention paid to taxes in Connecticut.
Patrick Madley August 10, 2012 at 05:03 PM
I am sorry but I disagree. The government can only do so much. No matter how much we do here, it is cheaper to operate EVERYTHING abroad... It's just the way of the world now
Spiff August 10, 2012 at 05:29 PM
Yes, that was a great report, thanks for recommending it DHHS.
Spiff August 10, 2012 at 05:31 PM
Hey Patrick, check out what they say about CT in this report (link attached below). I think you'll have a different tune! http://www.alec.org/docs/RSPS_5th_Edition.pdf
Patrick Madley August 11, 2012 at 02:51 AM
Spiff, I don't need to read your report. I understand CT is one of the less business friendly states around. Thats not the argument. If you dislike it here so much, you can always move to another state.
Don Charles August 11, 2012 at 03:54 AM
I heard, from a source, that Davis is Obama's father. Guess that is where he got his ideology. I also heard from another source that he was not a good student but had connections with some far left people including educational people that got him into these schools. Also from a source I cannot divulge.
Spiff August 11, 2012 at 11:52 AM
That's not the argument? Patrck, that is exactly the argument! How to create a business friendly environment where our economy can thrive. And, the Dems ain't gettin' it done, in fact they're making it worse. As for movin', easier said than done, for me anyway. But, check out page 3 of the report I linked to in my previous post. As you'll note, CT is in the bottom 10 states for population loss. Meaning, people who can afford to are moving from the state. Now, Patrick, keep in mind that these are the same people who can afford all these higher taxes imposed upon us by the Dems. They are, however, taking their money and spending it in another state, essentially helping that state's economy, not ours. The government will never help to grow the economy, and if you have an understanding of free-market capitalism, then you'll know this fact. Only the private sector can grow the economy, and unfortunately the Democrats in this state have made it extremely difficult for that to happen. So, CT will continue to limp along, as people who actually have the money to pay the high cost of living here (taxes being a huge contributor) flee the state, while the Democrats continue to raise taxes to make up for the lost revenue, and the cycle will continue, until CT looks like Detroit! The only way to keep this from happening is to lower taxes and make it easier for companies to do business here. That starts with voting every single Democrat out of office!
Don Charles August 11, 2012 at 01:43 PM
Patrick, I believe you own your own business have you put the government on the owners papers. They should have an interest in your business since they built it for you.
Patrick Madley August 11, 2012 at 03:37 PM
Spiff, I do agree with parts of your argument such as money is being spent in other states from our former residents who have chosen to move out- definitely not a good thing for us. But we cannot blame democrats alone for this. And Don, I don't believe I ever said I owned a business, did I? (not arguing, just curious where you came up with that)
Katrina February 23, 2013 at 10:33 PM
Ok, I am only just now reading this piece...I don't agree with many of the budget allocations currently being promoted. 1.2 million to UCONN when tuition is already sky high? This is a college...can't they figure out how to budget without state aid? And for the Governor to offer the grant publicly without questioning the ability for the administrators bothers me personally. A bus way from New Britain to Hartford that is costing taxpayers an estimated $1,000 per inch??? Yet not doing anything to alleviate the businesses and corporations any incentive to make ends meet. Seeing more "CLOSED" signs permanently posted in businesses a person once used to frequent or be employed. Factory parking lots that once held numerous cars of employees now home to tall weeds and graffiti artists on their walls...hmm makes me question what kind of leadership we have in the Governor's spot.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something