.

Patch’s Poll: Do You Trust Obama or Romney With Fixing the Economy?

The latest poll puts Mitt Romney and President Barack Obama in a dead heat among voters, with the economy still being the top issue.

Mitt Romney stood before the Republican National Convention delegates on Thursday and proclaimed, as he has done over the past year, that he was the best person to fix the broken economy.

“(President Obama’s) promises gave way to disappointment and division,” Romney told the delegates, as reported by The Tucson Citizen. “This isn’t something we have to accept. Now is the moment when we can do something. And, with your help, we will do something.”

Meanwhile, the economy is still the hot issue this year, given the high unemployment numbers and low growth. According to the National Journal, both Romney and Obama are in a dead heat when it comes to who would be better at economic issues.

And the economy is still the most important issue for 71 percent of the voters, the article noted.

This week, we head into the Democratic National Convention, where the political left will explain why Obama should stay in office and why he deserves another four years as commander in chief.

When comparing the two candidates, which do you think is better at economic issues? President Barack Obama or Mitt Romney? Take our poll and share your thoughts in the comments.

Daria Novak September 04, 2012 at 01:36 PM
Mary Jo - This Administration placed so many regulations and costs on businesses that it makes it very difficult to start or expand a company in America. We need to let the free market do its job. That doesn't mean supporting "crony capitalism," it means allowing a creative citizen, with a great business idea to bring a legitimate product or service to market without government over-regulation or interference. If one looks back at Chinese government regulations on the economy (command economy) over the decades one will find that a high level of government intervention/regulation/planning always fails. We are seeing this across Europe, in ALL communist states, and now here in America as we move down that path. We have a choice and it is not to late to turn the ship of state around and head in a more prosperous direction. Somehow some Americans have mistakenly come to believe that success is bad when we ought to be celebrating and supporting it!
Robert Bracer September 04, 2012 at 01:46 PM
Daria, name one, just one regulation that President Obama has put in place that makes it difficult to expand a business. When I read your posts it's like someone is scratching thier fingernails on a blackboard. Ever wonder why you are so unelectable?
Citizen September 04, 2012 at 01:53 PM
Mary Jo ... By overtaxing and over-regulating business, you tremendously increase "the cost of doing business." This, in turn, slows economic growth because fewer entrepreneurs will choose to open a business if they know that even if they manage to get through all the red tape associated with day to day operations they will then get hammered with tax on the profit they do manage to make. Many times, large corporations have legal methods and policies in place to deal with this – although it hurts them too – but they are better able to absorb these costs. But the guy down the block who wants to open up a restaurant – or heaven forbid – a small manufacturing plant – does not have the luxury of going overseas or strong arming the local government for tax breaks. That’s a big problem! And the small guy who’s already in business barely eking out a living can’t expand because he doesn’t have the profit margin to support it. So everything stagnates and no new jobs are created. So, you’re right – I guess you can say right now the free enterprise system is doing its thing. It has chosen to contract and go back into its shell until the time it deems it safe to poke its head out again.
Daria Novak September 04, 2012 at 01:54 PM
Once again, Robert, you are writing untruths in a failed attempt to make yet another personal attack. What "fundamentalist belief in scriptural literalism" are you attributing to me? I have NEVER written about my position on this subject other than to say all still have a RIGHT to religious freedom in the United States of America. Surely, you agree with this fundamental principle of freedom given us by the Founding Fathers? Where do you get this stuff from my Patch friend! LOL I presented facts in what I wrote above and you came back with personal attacks because I don't agree with you on policy issues. I am ok that we don't agree. That is your right, and mine, to have the personal freedom to own our thoughts in America. Offering up varied ideas on how to solve our challenges in this nation is a positive step toward incorporating all the good ideas regardless of political party. I support it. If a leader only listens to those with whom she agrees, then one will never learn of new ideas. I listen and often incorporate new ideas into my thinking. I do it in business and I did it when I was working in the government. You make unsubstantiated presumptions about about my personal beliefs and then are so intolerant as to put down what you think I believe! We are in a critical period in our nation's history. We must stop the name-calling. I will continue to work with all to explore solutions. Please be a little nicer and stick to the issues. Off to work now.
Jenn Bryson September 04, 2012 at 01:57 PM
Obama took over a disaster left by Bush when we were losing jobs by the millions per month and turned it around. It would have been much faster if Daria's tea party freaks didn't take over congress in 2010. In spite of the do nothing opposition, Obama has gotten a lot done. Romney will bring us back to disaster, he can't be trusted and he's an animal abuser and bully.
Rosie September 04, 2012 at 02:34 PM
Seriously, Obama turned what around?? He bailed out the car industry and banking industry on MY tax dollars. He put Obama care into effect so that people who have no desire to work can stay on welfare and get free medical, again on MY tax dollars. Business are closing by the thousands, jobs being sent overseas. Illegal's running amok. And what exactly did I as a tax paying citizen gain from Obama?? Absolutely nothing. Get rid of him. He is more interested in being a celebrity than a president. How's that Hope and Change working for ya? It's NOT for me.
Tom Riccio September 04, 2012 at 02:46 PM
Jepp and Jenn, A Democratic Congress set the stage for the financial downturn and Obama had a veto proof Congress at the beginning of his term allowing him to push through anything he desired. He did not because most of his agenda is considered radical by a majority of the country including those Dem Congress people in contentious voting districts. Obama and the Dem controlled Senate have not passd a budget in four years! (With no one voting for the President's budgets) Disgusting. Are you two makers or takers? The only sane minded people who can honestly desire four more years of hope and change are those who are receiving Govt handouts or who want to continue the failed experiment of hiring a totally unqualified person to lead our country. Obama has only made history by winning a Nobel Peace prize and then bombing terrorists with a worldwide drone assasination program and sending 30,000 more troops to Afghanistan and being the first gay President (Bill Clinton was the first black Prez). The Nation's biggest obstacles to progress have been Reid-Pelosi. As Connecticut citizens you should see the same pattern here as a decades long Dem state legislature has driven us into the ground with Malloy now dancing on our heads. Jenn, tell me three things Obama has done to make your life personally better. See you two at the polls.
Citizen September 04, 2012 at 02:54 PM
There is nothing – and I mean nothing – to suggest that Mitt Romney is this demonic megalomaniac who wants to enslave the poor and crush the middle class. By all accounts – if you can take a step back and breathe for a second – he has lived a life devoted to doing the work of the God he believes in. I’m not a believer but he clearly is. I knew nothing about him really until this year but it is very apparent to me who he is. He is a very goal-oriented, moral, intelligent, dutiful man who loves his family and is very good at what he did in the private sector – making money. And there is nothing wrong with that. He did it legally and within the confines of decency. Now, I believe what you have with Mitt Romney is a guy who sees an opportunity to make a difference. He wants to ‘fix’ the problem. And the problem de jour is The Economy. And he believes he can do it. And I think that if he could choose another way to get it done where he wouldn’t have to be trotted out in public and have his life dissected and distorted and have his family ridiculed and prodded all day long, he might take that other way. But there isn’t another way. This is all there is.........
SolarPete September 04, 2012 at 02:54 PM
Jenn Mitt is not any animal abuser U seem to listen to what ever the Obama crew say and u believe it as the truth. Smoke got into your eyes. Bullies make up stories to change ur way of thinking. Obama has done some good, but has also done a lot wrong. Facts are facts he has wasted taxpayes money on vacations, tried to show he was green with growing his own veggies only someone else cares for the garden, has a mother in law who lives off you and I for free and they give her a salery for caring for the kids, facts are facts he has caused more harm than good wasted our taxes into more debt and did spread the wealth around more folks on welfare, food stamps and less folks are working He even allowed guns to go to drug gangs in mexico to kill others
Citizen September 04, 2012 at 02:54 PM
........Is the power associated with being President of the United States enticing to him? Maybe. But although he is clearly a corporate man who craves the control associated with being the top guy, he does not appear to be the type who desires the power for power’s sake. He wants it because that’s the only way he has to get the job done. He is not a very good campaigner and he may not even be a very good politician but he is a “fixer”. See a problem, fix a problem. He is not comfortable with the pomp and circumstance. He is not comfortable telling us about himself or his good deeds. He is stiff in public although he seems to be getting better. But it is clear when you see him interact on a one on one basis with people – especially his family – you can see the difference. But here’s the kicker. I don’t care. I don’t care that he is a good father or a good husband or a good man. Selfishly, I believe he is exactly what we need now. And now I have to take care of my kids and my grandkids. It’s their future I’m worried about not his – not even mine, really. And I think he would agree with that 100%. This is about getting a job done and saving the future. This is not personal – just business.
Kevin Price September 04, 2012 at 03:06 PM
Daria, it makes no sense whatsoever to engage or even react to people like Robert B. Most who make comments on message boards like this have already made up their minds anyway. Clearly, Daria, you have the more thoughtful and cogent comments to make and I expect thinking people see this. Let Robert B. rant on by himself...he makes the case against the incumbent better than anyone.
Steve Bristol September 04, 2012 at 03:13 PM
Charles Saved the UAW by changing rules about who receives funds first in bankruptcy. Really only affected GM, which now gets most of its profit overseas while losing overall market share. We still own approx. 25% of a company hemorrhaging money; they owe us taxpayers some $30B. Ford succeeded on its own, as did the import companies that operate here, most in right-to-work states. Lily Ledbetter--yet the women on staff in the WH are paid less than their male counterparts.Do as I say, not as I do. The stock market surged because the Fed has artificially manipulated interest rates to keep them so low that markets are the only place to make $$. Combat ops in Iraq were ended under a agreement made between Bush and the Iraqis. Turned down two ops to kill OBL earlier; had to be forced to give a go-ahead when he did. Oh, and it was Navy SEALs who killed the man. We could also discuss the current ROEs that handcuff the military while he arbitrarily picks out potential targets for drone strikes. RE: keeping country safe--no, we have not had an attack here but he pushed for Gitmo detainees to be tried in NYC. Fortunately, smarter people prevailed on that so that either attacks didn't happen or, at best, billions weren't spent on trial security and accompanying lockdown of the city. Is a Romney administration the perfect panacea? I don't know but I trust a businessman a far piece more than the current administration of academics and Chicago pols. Steve
Gale Iannone September 04, 2012 at 03:52 PM
I'm with you jepp930.
Pete September 04, 2012 at 04:36 PM
I'm with you too, jepp.
melinda tillie September 04, 2012 at 05:07 PM
jepp930: I thank you for expressing my views exactly. The "Rs" can not be trusted. And who do they pick as the VP? Ryan was part of the gang that met the night of the inauguarial conspiring against President Obama before he had a chance to do anything! Seems strange also that they picked Ryan right after the weekend at David Koch`slong island mansion...funny timing is everything. Isay FORWARD!
Pete September 04, 2012 at 05:30 PM
At the end of 8 years of "your way" look where we were. No thanks. Not again. Total control for the first 2 years? Another Republican lie. It wasn't total control without a filibuster-proof Senate, which we did not have, unfortunately.
Pete September 04, 2012 at 05:39 PM
Hey Patch, what kind of answers to this poll do you think you'll get when it starts with this? "Mitt Romney stood before the Republican National Convention delegates on Thursday and proclaimed, as he has done over the past year, that he was the best person to fix the broken economy. “(President Obama’s) promises gave way to disappointment and division,” Romney told the delegates, as reported by The Tucson Citizen. “This isn’t something we have to accept. Now is the moment when we can do something. And, with your help, we will do something.”" Think you'll get unbiased answers after setting up your question with that? So much for "liberal media."
Lou September 04, 2012 at 05:48 PM
Killed OBL? Are you kidding me? Charles you have issues my man.
Lou September 04, 2012 at 05:51 PM
Mary JO Obimbo is stopping free enterprise from fixing the economy. Many large manufacturing companies are ready to spend a ton of money on new assets, however, they will not due to not knowing what this current idiot will do with Bush's tax cuts.
ckb September 04, 2012 at 05:52 PM
Daria, I am so sick of being villified for holding a different opinion than these progressives. They love to claim to be the party of tolerance, yet everywhere you turn, they are name calling and attacking..this from the president down. Of course they have no accomplishments to run on. We need the adults back in charge that's why this country needs Romney/Ryan!
Pete September 04, 2012 at 05:52 PM
The founding fathers had many of the same arguments about the role of the federal government vs states rights as we are having today. There was just as heated a debate then as there is now. They were not all on the same page then, any more than we are now.
Jon September 04, 2012 at 05:55 PM
obama can't put together 2 Lego bricks, never mind run the country correctly. Fact, he screwed over bondholders of the automakers to jam the bailout through. Fact, the math does NOT work. Money flows like water to the path of least resistance. If the desire is so high to increase taxes of the anymone making more than $250,000 (by the way that number is OUT OF DATE) those can choose to set up businesses in places whereby the taxes are lower, causing layoffs, housing prices to decline where the original business closes. Look at the beloved state capital, there is more than enough commercial real estate available because the taxes/rents are high. Wait, you can look downtown Madison and see empty stores. Why is Given leaving, because rent was too high. Why did Cohens Bagel shut down in Branford, because the blackmail didn't work, Rob Cohen said, NO to the increase of the lease rates in a sour economy (good change obama), 6 jobs were lost. Madison is a PRIME EXAMPLE of little (commercial) income, little brains (town officials) and higher taxes. Fact, if you don't trust the Republicans you are judging a book by its cover. Look at Slick Willy Clinton, would you let your husband cheat on you and say it was okay? Stop watching NBC and go see "2016" the movie and wake up. Here is a solution, let's tax those with the big mouths. If the democrats want to discriminate, let all registered democrats pay greater taxes. Let's see how many drop from the party.
ckb September 04, 2012 at 05:56 PM
Honestly..all I can say is "and she votes folks" It's misinformed koolaid drinking, name calling attacks that refuse to be tolerant of other views other than what they hold. Thin skinned bullies-they do this because they have accomplished nothing during the last 4 years. No one is better off today than when Barack H. Obama took office, gas is higher, food is higher, unemployment is higher, spending is higher, more people on food stamps, entitlements. And people forget-the Government does not have money. The government does not make money. The Government gets their money from US, we the taxpayers! It's OUR money and It's OUR time to vote these people out and put the adults in charge!
ckb September 04, 2012 at 06:01 PM
I'll say it again..and "he votes folks".. unbelievable..you are actually complaining because the media isn't liberal biased enough for you? This is laughable. How do you actually go make an informed intelligent choice when you are whining about it not being liberal enough... Thanks for the higher gas prices, food prices, the fact that I have to work harder so the slugs can have more..yah thanks for nothing.
Pete September 04, 2012 at 06:32 PM
There is another alternative, ckb. They could have just asked the question without the editorializing. Damn straight I vote.
SolarPete September 04, 2012 at 07:19 PM
Love this clip nd it says it all same story as before never see any results http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J5VMX2JahrU&feature=share
Rosie September 04, 2012 at 09:58 PM
You will still vote for Obama because he is a good man...really?? He may be the nicest guy in the world, but he is not fit to be president. The guy couldn't find his way out of a paper bag, let alone run the country. I think that has been proven. The economy tanked, jobs lost, and his hope and change isn't working, obviously. Look, I am a registered democrat, I voted for Obama because I believed his sales pitch about hope and change. But I now realize that's all it was, a sales pitch. Fool me once, shame on you. Fool me twice, shame on me. He won't fool me twice.
Jay September 04, 2012 at 10:48 PM
By design and through experience the men that designed our form of government put into place a periodic "vote of confidence". In the case of the presidency they set it at four years. Hindsight tells us that they never aticipated what a big deal this would be every fourth year and how much money, time and energy would be expended filling that single seat. All said and done, the system has proven itself. We are still here and there has only been a single resort to arms over a presidential election and hindsight tells us that was unavoidable. Every four years ! That is a considerable length of time for a Chief Executive to prove himself to the satisfaction of the "shareholders - especially in these days of an oversupply of information and data. Successful govermental orgainizations respond to major issues and most begin by changing the players when it is agreed that things are not going well. President Truman fired Douglas McArthur, an almost mythical figure of WW2, because he was losing - Big Time . There were calls for impeaching Truman. Truman put Ridgeway in command and that appointee gave Truman the victories he need to settle the Korean War without a WW3 . It is now every American voters chance to decide if the incumbent has demonstrated a pattern of successful actions that will lead us all out of this pothole . This is the fourth year Mr. Obama has been in control - time to stop blowing smoke and choose a future .
Jim Braun September 05, 2012 at 02:27 AM
Daria, I've been critical of you in the past, but I fully agree with you on Obama being a whiner and a blamer. I'm not that old and am not into Presidential politics, but in my life, I've never seen nor heard of any other president "passing the buck" as much as the current President does. I'm sure some Presidential historian will chime in with "huh huh what about Tyler, or surely the only reason Taylor didn't was because he wasn't in office long enough". Those are both made-up jokes and were not intended to offend the Tyler and Taylor fans out there as I know there are many. You know how every President picks and chooses some items from past administrations to take into the Oval Office, such as Kennedy's desk being a more famous one? Obama should have taken fellow Democrat Truman's "the buck stops here" desk plate, stuck it on his desk, and stopped acting as if even though he is President, he is powerless to do anything but live with what the much more powerful previous administration's epic and unyielding policies placed on the books in perpetuity. Does anyone believe that? His shortcomings are due to what his predecessor did? What kind of excuse is that? Sheesh....
Christopher Schaefer September 10, 2012 at 10:30 AM
Rosa “out-of-touch-with-reality” DeLauro has proposed raising the federal minimum wage in three stages to $9.80 per hour: an increase of 35% over the current level. Studies project job losses in the range of 256,000 to 768,000 following a wage hike of this magnitude, according to Employment Policies Institute, a nonprofit research organization focusing on employment growth, with emphasis on issues that affect entry-level employment. Bureau of Labor Statistics indicate that of employees working at or near the current minimum wage of $7.25, nearly 50% are under age 25; 43% work in food prep & serving occupations, where profit margins are low. The result will be loss of hours, employment, or both. Among teens, the unemployment rate is already 23.8% nationwide. http://www.wcbm.com/includes/news_items/29/news_items_more.php?id=161961&section_id=29

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something